Design the process not the outcome

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses
2 min readAug 15, 2021

--

People spend a lot of time imagining what the final product will look like. They daydream about the future and the expectations they have for it for a long time. However, I don’t think that’s really accurate. Actually listen!

photo credit to Steve Johnson

In his books, essays, and YouTube interviews, Seth Godinfrequently referred to this. Instead of worrying about the conclusion, future, or how it might seem, you should concentrate on the design of the process.

You should certainly have a goal in mind, but instead of focusing on achieving it and becoming obsessed with it, you should focus on the task at hand. You are responsible for deciding how the dailys should appear.

An apartment with beautiful flowers and peaceful surroundings was what I was looking for as an example. That apartment costs 1.5 million Nigerian nairas per year in cities like Lagos, Abuja, and so on, according to the most recent information I could find. And I can assure you that I don’t have the money for it!

Because if I keep my eyes on the prize, I will not only miss out on the expectation but will also be upstaged by others who are better prepared. Instead, I construct my own habitat.

Considering the picture in my head. Planting the flowers, painting the walls in my desired color palettes, and cleaning up the mess all were things I did before moving on to the next step in my creative process. What’s more, the sooner you get on the case, the better.

Remember that there are a plethora of people, variables, and circumstances that all contribute to the same goal. Some of these unwelcome influences can help you achieve the same goal as your own, but they’re motivated by different reasons.

What would you do if you knew that you were going to fail? Whatever happened to that recommendation? What if I don’t get a first-class degree?
It’s ironic and counterintuitive because most of the time when you do exactly the same thing in the face of rejection, you won’t get rejected. — Seth Godin

Try reading that again, please!

--

--

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses

I’m Moses. And I admire people and communities. Aside from the everyday startup development, writing is how I help more people.