Move things when they don’t

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses
2 min readOct 7, 2021

--

When the occasion calls for it, act like a designer. And sculptural when necessary. They are both lords of reality.

Photo credit to Elena Mozhvillo

Here are some favorite quotes from Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni, known simply as Michelangelo, was an Italian sculptor, painter, architect, and poet of the High Renaissance born in the Republic of Florence:

I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.

Genius is eternal patience.

Every block of stone has a statue inside it and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it.

Trifles make perfection, and perfection is no trifle.

The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short, but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.

Beauty is the purgation of superfluities.

Lord, grant that I may always desire more than I can accomplish.

A man paints with his brains and not with his hands.

The greatest danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.

It is well with me only when I have a chisel in my hand.

There are 10 quotes here; they will be the subjects of my next 10 articles. I hope you learned something.

--

--

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses

I’m Moses. And I admire people and communities. Aside from the everyday startup development, writing is how I help more people.