We have to make sense of our reality

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses
2 min readJan 8, 2022

--

‘…Intelligent species, they are blacks, powerful by the books and scientifically inclined to the best of innovation and mehn, they ain’t poor and they have the best of wealth…’

How are we to make sense of our African reality? What is our claimed contribution to the global human race as blacks or people of color?

It is self-evident that we are lost and without a purpose, and this puts us in a daily loop of running in circles, and it simply does not define what sense is meant to look like.

We are a people, in the millions, if not billions, and we cannot unilaterally declare that this is our work and this is the contribution we are required to make to the human Earth. I attempt to rationalize that perhaps I have not studied enough to comprehend what our collective rather than an individual contribution to the earth should be.

It makes more sense when we can give collectively, that is, each on a broad scale, rather than individually in our very small pockets.

When the best of us dies, at the very least a name is left for the remnant; yet, if the remnants were never included in the equation, we have no equitable remainder and are rather lost than defined. As a result, the set following our bests will remain unfilled. No, it should not be the case.

I also considered that perhaps the issue is that my experience is distinct from that of the average wealthy African, but I disagree; in my limited capacity, I am wealthier than the average African, but only in terms of knowledge and material possessions, or perhaps I am not; however, that is not the point here; rather, the more pertinent question is: What is the experience of the majority of Africans? It is the answer to that issue that defines our entire experience, and how we resolve it affects who we truly are as a people and how we are seen when we are out in public.

Next time I travel out there amidst people of other colors, I want to be defined as ‘Intelligent species, they are blacks, powerful by the books and scientifically inclined to the best of innovation and mehn, they ain’t poor and they have the best of wealth as other nations also do’

--

--

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses

I’m Moses. And I admire people and communities. Aside from the everyday startup development, writing is how I help more people.