In need of a job?

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses
2 min readOct 4, 2021

--

Select one of the companies where you’d like to work and take the risk of volunteering. You’ll be able to get on their payroll by demonstrating your expertise.

photo credit to Barry Weather

That was my response to someone who once informed me that he was looking for work and that he had tried everything he could but to no avail. What should I do if I want to start a business but don’t have enough money?

However, here’s something else I recommend you do:

Make a job for yourself.

This isn’t a difficult concept to grasp, yet it can be difficult to accept.

The reality is that you’ll have to wait several days and go to bed hungry multiple nights before you get your first paying customer. That can be difficult, but if it’s the only way to get your daily bread and possibly an eternal bakery, why not?

Others create employment, and if others aren’t doing so, instead of competing unnecessarily and convincing yourself that you’re unqualified, why not carve out your own niche and make something that people will pay for?

It will almost certainly take time, but obtaining a job will take time as well, and what if you don’t get the job? At the very least, if you spend days designing a job, you can be reasonably confident that it will turn out well.

So, if you can’t find a job, make one for yourself. Someone will be grateful that you did.

--

--

Ogunranti Adebayo Moses

I’m Moses. And I admire people and communities. Aside from the everyday startup development, writing is how I help more people.